LG Optimus Vu – phablets attack!

LG Optimus Vu

LG Optimus Vu - too fat?

That almost sounds like a spell stolen from a Harry Potter movie and although the term hasn’t exactly been implemented yet, I am still going to use it. In any case, this time around I was quietly drooling over my keyboard when checking out the LG Optimus Vu, the manufacturer’s answer to the Samsung Galaxy Note. Now I wonder what the LG Optimus Vu packs behind that display.

The first thing which popped was the 5 inch display the LG Optimus Vu comes with. Unlike the Samsung Galaxy Note, the Vu comes with a 4:3 aspect ratio. Now I’m not sure about that choice, seeing as 16:9 has become quite the norm lately. They claim that the 4:3 aspect ratio with a resolution of 1024 x 768 will be better for reading text or viewing pictures. That might be so, but the fact remains that because of the changed aspect ratio, the device is quite fat around its waist. I can image holding the Galaxy Note comfortably even if I had smaller hands, yet the LG Optimus Vu seems a little bit over that limit.

The other thing is that the standard across a number of elements has shifted to the 16:9 aspect ratio (YouTube to give the most pertinent example) and also because of that a lot of pages might have issues as well. As someone who still is somewhat reticent on phablets, I can’t say if I like it yet or not until I don’t get to actually hold it, yet seeing the side by side picture, I can’t help but think it’s not exactly comfortable to hold or use. But that might just be me.

Source – Unwired View

Leave a Reply

